Who Are the School’s Governors?

We have 10 governors representing different stakeholders in the school and the community.  We always look to have 4 parent governors, one of the teaching team, the Head, a governor chosen by the Local Authority, a governor from within the wider community and two Foundation governors representing the spiritual ethos of the school.  The best governing boards are made up of people with varying skills sets and interests.  At Georgeham we all have a specific responsibility (for which no prior experience is needed) and sit on a committee focusing on either the Teaching and Learning aspects of the school or the Resources aspects of the school (such as finance, budgeting, personnel, buildings).  The table below lists our current governors, their roles and any vacancies on the governing body.  To learn more about their attendance at meetings and to see a full register of their business interests please see our Governors Register page.

We are always happy to answer any questions about school governance and our work, or to hear from individuals who may be interested in becoming school governors.  We can be contacted via the School Office or by email to: chairofgovernors@georgeham-primary.devon.sch.uk.

Name Office/Commitee Lead Role Type Term of Office
Alison Smith Chair of Governors
Teaching & Learning Committee & Resources Committee
Parent/Community Link Governor


Parent 24/10/14-23/10/18
David Humpries Chair of the Teaching & Learning Committee School Improvement & Raising Achievement, Pupil Premium Local Authority Officer 25/7/17-23/7/21
David Morton Chair of the Resources Committee

Member of the Pay Committee

School Structure and Collaboration Co-opted 11/6/15–10/6/19
Lorraine Upward Vice Chair of Governors

Teaching & Learning Committee

Early Years/KS1 Attainment and Curriculum Parent 6/11/15 – 5/11/19
Emma Hill Teaching & Learning Committee  n/a Staff 2/10/17-1/10/21
Judith Larrington Teaching & Learning Committee SEN & Inclusion, Safeguarding/CPR Foundation 21/11/15–20/11/19
Mike Newbon Resources Committee

Chair of the Pay Committee

Finance & rotation for Health & Safety

Deputy Governor for Safeguarding

Ex-officio During incumbancy
Glenda Thurley Resources Committee and Pay Committee Performance and Personnel Co-opted 15/1/18 – 14/1/22
Paul Trueman Floating between committees – primarily Teaching & Learning Committee Communications advisor Parent 6/11/15 – 5/11/19
Julian Thomas Teaching & Learning Committee & Resources Committee  n/a Head Teacher Appointed 1/9/2008
Tom Gould Clerk to Governors n/a Clerk  Appointed 11/7/2016
Vacancy Co-opted